New Colleges for 2015 by University of Divinity

The University of Divinity (UD) has accepted two newly reconfigured colleges – the Pilgrim Theological College (PTC) and the Trinity College Theological School (TCTS) – into the university. PTC is an expanded program of the Uniting Church Theological College.
It follows a decision to close the United Faculty of Theology at the end of this year.

The UFT was formed in 1969 as an ecumenical partnership between the precursor Theological Colleges of the Uniting Church, the Jesuit Theological College (Catholic) and Trinity College Theological School (Anglican).

The Jesuit Theological College has decided not to seek to be a college of the University of Divinity and thus from the end of the current academic year the current partnership comes to an end.

Both the Uniting Church’s expanded theological college PTC and TCTS will begin separate operations at the start of the 2015 academic year. Further information about the curricula, faculties and facilities of the two newly accredited colleges will be provided in the near future.

Existing students will be able to continue their studies with either of the colleges and the 2014 UFT academic timetable will be completed in full.

The UFT will provide full support to all students to enable an effective and clear transition to one of the colleges and will take steps to ensure that all students are able to complete the awards for which they are enrolled.

The moderator of the Vic/Tas synod, Dan Wootton, said the synod – through the CTM and its board – would have oversight of PTC and was committed to preserving the broad, ecumenical vision for theological education that was characteristic of the UFT.

Mr Wootton said the expanded Uniting Church college would be launched with a redesigned curriculum, expanded teaching faculty and refreshed approach to ministry, discipleship and leadership formation.

Share Button



Comments are closed.